Centenary Institute Facebook Centenary Institute Centenary Institute Centenary Institute Centenary Institute
Home » About us » Our Board

Our Board

The Honourable Michael Egan AO (Chairman)

Mr Egan, a former Treasurer of NSW (1995-2005), is Chancellor of Macquarie University, Chairman of the Australian Fisheries Management Authority Commission, and a member of the NHMRC. During his 25-year parliamentary career Mr Egan held several ministerial positions.

Mr John Samaha (Deputy Chairman)

Mr Samaha leads the Australian litigation and contentious regulatory practice of global law firm Allen & Overy. He has represented many leading financial institutions and corporations, as well as executives, who operate in a wide range of sectors, especially banking, wealth management, financial markets, resources, real estate development, IT and telecommunications.


Dr Teresa Anderson

Dr Anderson is Chief Executive of the Sydney Local Health District and has over 30 years experience as a clinician and manager in the public health system, including General Manager, Liverpool Hospital and Director, Clinical Operations, Former Sydney South West Area Health Service.

Dr Anderson is a Board member of the Ingham Health Research Institute, Anzac Research Institute, Centre for Primary Health Care and Equity, and Inner West Sydney Medicare Local.

Mr Joseph Carrozzi

Mr Carrozzi is a National Managing Partner at accounting firm PricewaterhouseCoopers. He is responsible for managing relationships with some of the largest organisations in Australia, both ASX100 listed companies and also a number of major multi-nationals operating in Australia.

Mr Carrozzi has led PwC’s client service program in Australia, focusing on the strategy for growth and service quality. He has supported a number of the firm’s charity partners such as Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. He is admitted as a Barrister at Law in NSW, a member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia and a Fellow of the Tax Institute of Australia. He is also a member of the Board of Italian Chamber of Commerce in Australia and the Corporate Board of European Australian Chamber of Commerce (EABC).

Mr Alastair Davidson

Mr Davidson has held executive positions in the banking and financial services industry for 24 years in the UK, US and Australia. He is currently Managing Director of Aurora Funds Management in Sydney. Prior to this, Mr Davidson was at Citibank, Australia in Sydney, where he spent eight years as co-head of its new product group. He is also a non-executive director of Biotech Capital, an ASX-listed investment company.

Ms Elizabeth Dibbs

Ms Dibbs held senior legal positions throughout her career, including General Counsel of PricewaterhouseCoopers prior to her retirement. Ms Dibbs now focuses her energy on the not-for-profit sector. She is a member of the Board of Trustees of the University of Western Sydney, a director of United Way Australia, a Council member of Chief Executive Women.

Professor John Horvath AO

Professor John Horvath was the Australian Government Chief Medical Officer from 2003 – 2009. He is currently continuing to advise the Department of Health & Ageing and the School of Medicine, University of Sydney, and holds the position of Honorary Professor of Medicine. Professor Horvath is currently a member of the Council of the NHMRC and Chairman of the Healthcare Committee. He is a Fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians and is a distinguished practitioner, researcher and teacher.

Professor Horvath was previously Clinical Professor of Medicine at University of Sydney and a specialist renal physician at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital (RPAH), and Area Director of Renal Services for the RPAH and Concord Repatriation General Hospitals. He is also as a leader in a range of medical training and workforce organisations. He is also a former President of the Australian Medical Council and the NSW Medical Board.

Mr Graham Kelly

Mr Kelly is a non-executive Chairman of Tishman Speyer Office Trust, Centrebet International Limited, Infigen Energy Limited and a non-executive director of several companies including Fresh Food Australia Holdings Pty Limited and Oasis Fund Management Limited. He is a consultant to Freehills law firm, and was until recently the Inspector of the Independent Commission Against Corruption and a Director of the Medical Research and Compensation Foundation.

Professor Bruce Robinson AM

Professor Robinson is Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Sydney and Head of the Cancer Genetic Laboratory at the Kolling Institute. In 2003, he was awarded the Daiichi Prize by the Asia and Oceania Thyroid Association for this work on the pathogenesis of thyroid cancer.

Professor Robinson is the Founding Chairman of Hoc Mai, the Australia Vietnam Medical Foundation, which sponsors and supports medical nursing, allied health and scientific exchanges between Australia and Vietnam. He is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Ms Josephine Sukkar

Ms Josephine Sukkar serves as Principal of Buildcorp Australia Pty Ltd. Ms Sukkar is co-owner of Buildcorp, where she has overall responsibility for executive business development and marketing, human resources and sustainability.

Ms Sukkar is a keen philanthropist. She is Vice-President of YWCA NSW, a Director of the Sydney University Football Club Foundation, and is actively involved with a number of other charitable and community organisations including Redkite, Sydney University Football Club, Women on Boards and the Museum of Contemporary Art. Ms Sukkar has been a Director of Trust Company Ltd since March 26, 2010. Ms Sukkar is a Member of the Advisory Board of Buildcorp Australia Pty Ltd.

Ms Deborah Willcox

Ms Willcox started her career as a nurse, principally in the area of Intensive Care. Since that time Ms Willcox has held senior positions in Government, both as an adviser to the Deputy Premier and Minister for Health; and later as Chief of Staff in the portfolios of Planning, Housing and Aboriginal Affairs. Ms Willcox was admitted as a Legal Practitioner in New South Wales and worked for a time in the area of
employment and industrial relations law.

Ms Willcox has also worked in the not for profit sector in the area of mental health research. In recent years Ms Willcox has held senior positions in NSW Health, including as part of the executive within the now Ministry of Health, and with the HealthShare NSW. Ms Willcox was the appointed General Manager at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital in January 2013.

Professor Mathew Vadas AO

Professor Vadas trained in medicine at the University of Sydney and as a physician at the Royal Prince Alfred Hospital before completing a doctorate at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute in Melbourne. After postdoctoral work at Harvard, he returned to Australia and built up a significant research enterprise in Adelaide. He was a chief initiator and Inaugural Director of the Hanson Centre for Cancer Research (now Hanson Institute).  More…



ABN 22 654 201 090 has Deductible Gift Recipient (DGR) status with the Australian Tax Office. 
© 2014 Centenary Institute of Cancer Medicine and Cell Biology.