Home > Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award
Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award
Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award
Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award
Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award

Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Award

The Centenary Institute is dedicated to supporting the medical research sector as a whole. The Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Awards promote innovation and creativity in the sector and are committed to encouraging a domestic culture of scientific excellence.

The 2019 Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Awards winner and runner-up will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held Wednesday, 21st August.


Australia’s spirited young post-doctoral scientists who are taking risks and tackling the big questions of medical research.


Australia’s most promising and inspiring young biomedical scientists.


Innovation and creativity – the essential ingredients in all human endeavour.


A domestic culture of brilliance in medical research.


Media Release and Poster

Download the 2019 Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Awards media release here.

Download the 2019 Centenary Institute Medical Innovation Awards poster here.

Dr McArthur’s 2018 Application video

“An award like this, particularly for early career researchers, is unbelievable. It can be very difficult to get funding this early in your career. Awards like this help us convince the ‘big guys’ our ideas have merit, and that people are excited and interested in them”.

Dr Kate McArthur, winner of the 2018 In Memory of Neil Lawrence Prize.

What the 2019 finalists will receive

1st Prize

In Memory of Neil Lawrence Prize sponsored by Commonwealth Private

The winner of the In Memory of Neil Lawrence Prize will receive $30,000 to support their project and a perpetual Nick Mount hand blown glass trophy.

2nd Prize

Bayer Innovation Award  

The runner-up will receive $15,000 to continue to develop their research.

Travel Prize

Harvard Club of Australia Foundation

The recipient of this prize will be awarded $5,000 for the purpose of travelling to Harvard University, Boston, Massachusetts, USA.

People’s Choice Award

A People’s Choice Award will be voted on by the general public and research community and the successful applicant will be awarded a $2,000 prize.


The Prize’s stellar line-up of adjudicators comprises of some of the most distinguished and prestigious scientists around the world including members of the Centenary Institute Scientific Advisory Board.

Professor Ashley Bush

Director of the Oxidation Biology Unit at the Florey Institute of Neuroscience and Mental Health.

Professor Sir Marc Feldmann AC

Head, Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology, leads the Cytokine and Cellular Biology section, University of Oxford, UK.

Professor Ian Frazer AC

Translational Research Institute Ambassador and Chair of TRI Foundation Board, The University of Queensland Diamantina Institute, Queensland, AUS

Professor Michael Good AO

Institute of Glycomics, Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus, Queensland, AUS.

Professor Michael W Parker

Director, Bio21 Molecular Science and Biotechnology Institute (Bio21 Institute), Professor, Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Melbourne and Head of Structural Biology ACRF Drug Discovery Centre, St. Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research.

Professor Jenny Stow

Group Leader, Institute for Molecular Bioscience (IMB), The University of Queensland, AUS.

Professor Mathew Vadas AO

Executive Director, Centenary Institute, New South Wales, AUS.

Professor Jane Visvader

Joint Head, ACRF Cancer Biology and Stem Cells, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research, Victoria, AUS.


2018 – Dr Kate McArthur, Monash University* (Victoria)

Dr McArthur has utilised an imaging technique called lattice light-sheet microscopy (LLSM) and genetically engineered a system which has allowed her to document what exactly takes place during cell “suicide” – a process fundamental to the human body’s development. The discovery could have practical implications for a wide range of inflammatory and autoimmune diseases, such as lupus and rheumatoid arthritis.

2017 – Dr James Hudson, University of Queensland*

Dr Hudson’s research has led to the development of human cardiac organoids that provide a representation of human heart tissue in a dish. Dr Hudson and his team will utilise these human cardiac organoids in further research to discover processes that can target the treatment of cardiac disease.

2016 – Dr Anne Rios, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute* (Victoria)

Dr Rios has developed 3D imaging technique to visualise entire breast tissues down to a single-cell level, providing an unprecedented view of this organ to assist in a greater understanding of the origins of cancer.

2015 – Dr Greg Ebert, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute* (Victoria)

Dr Ebert was recognised for his discovery and development of a new therapy to treat, and potentially eliminate, chronic hepatitis B virus (HBV) infection. 

2014 – Associate Professor Geoff Faulkner, Mater Research Institute* (Queensland)

Associate Professor Faulkner is investigating how a common, short piece of DNA affects the operation of the brain, paving the way to better understand a range of brain disorders and diseases such as haemophilia, muscular dystrophy and some forms of cancer.

2013 – Dr Connie Wong, Monash University* (Victoria)

Dr Wong investigated a way to prevent early deaths following stroke with fibre-based diet, by using innovative microscope techniques to determine how stroke weakens the immune system.

2012 – Dr Jian Yang, Diamantina Institute* (Queensland)

Dr Yang solved one of the great puzzles of human genetics – why the genes typically implicated in inherited diseases like schizophrenia, obesity and diabetes only account for a small amount of their heritability.

2011 – Dr Marie-Liesse Asselin-Labat, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research* (Victoria)

Dr Asselin-Labat was part of the team that discovered the breast stem cell. She subsequently worked to unravel how and why they contribute to the progression of breast cancer.

*Institute/University at time of Award

Thank you to our generous sponsors and supporters

Commonwealth Private


Lawrence Family
Our private individual philanthropists

For further information please contact Karen McBrien at email us or 1800 677 977